Join NASW today! 1-800-742-4089

HEARTLAND UNIT


Each year, the NASW-FL Heartland Unit recognizes outstanding nominees in each of five categories:


The Social Worker of the Year Award honors a member of the NASW-FL Heartland Unit who exemplifies the best of the profession’s values and achievements through specific accomplishments. In honoring the Social Worker of the Year, NASW-FL highlights outstanding accomplishments in the practice of social work.


The Student Social Worker of the Year Award honors a student member of the NASW-FL Heartland Unit who best exemplifies the profession’s values and ethics, and who demonstrates outstanding potential as a leader in the field. NASW-FL recognizes a student who has notable achievements while still in training.


The Social Worker Educator of the Year Award honors an individual in the Heartland area who contributes significantly to social work education and exemplifies the best of the profession. This award celebrates achievements in education and research, advocacy on behalf of students, and enhancing relationships between social work education and practice. The individual may be faculty or a field liaison affiliated with a CSWE accredited college or university.


The Public Citizen of the Year Award honors an outstanding member of the Heartland area community whose accomplishments exemplify the values and mission of professional social work. The award recipient is not a social worker.


The Elected Official of the Year Award recognizes outstanding service and contributions of an elected official in the Heartland area who has shown leadership in the formulation of public policy, particularly policies that affect social justice, health care, education, civil and human rights, and social practice.

Please be thinking NOW of possible nominees. More information on the nomination process will be forth coming. Also please be aware of a post card mailing or email regarding the next meeting of the Heartland Unit all members are invited and welcome to attend.

Nancy


“Social entrepreneurs are not content just to give a fish or teach how to fish. They will not rest until they have revolutionized the fishing industry.” 
― Bill Drayton, Leading Social Entrepreneurs Changing the World

UPCOMING EVENTS

There are no local events planned at this time. Please check the Events page for other opportunities.



If you know of a speaker or a topic you would like presented please contact a Steering Committee member.



UNIT LEADERSHIP


Nancy Anderson, MSW - Unit Chair

nancy.anderson@warner.edu ​​


Penne Williams  

penne@usf.edu

Peggy Smith

peggy.smith@polk-fl.net

Melissa Brown

mswmel98@aol.com

Jackie Bryan  

jackie.bryan@polk-fl.net

Michiel Crawford  

michiel@eartlink.net

Heather Rhimes  

heather.rhimes@polk-fl.net

Kelly Wood  

kelly.wood@molinahealthcare.com

Pam Criss - Legislative Chair

pcriss@seu.edu

Debra LoCicero

debra.locicero@polk-fl.net

Kate Markley  

kmarkley@tampabay.rr.com

John Chapman

hcap@verizon.net