UPCOMING EVENTS


There are no local events planned at this time.  Please visit the Events page for other opportunities.



If you know of a speaker or a topic you would like presented please contact a Steering Committee member.



UNIT LEADERSHIP


Melva Dorsey, MSW - Unit Chair

heartland.naswfl@socialworkers.org


Penne Williams  

penne@usf.edu

Peggy Smith

peggy.smith@polk-fl.net

Melissa Brown

mswmel98@aol.com

Jackie Bryan  

jackie.bryan@polk-fl.net

Michiel Crawford  

michiel@eartlink.net

Heather Rhimes  

heather.rhimes@polk-fl.net

Kelly Wood  

kelly.wood@molinahealthcare.com

Pam Criss - Legislative Chair

pcriss@seu.edu

Debra LoCicero

debra.locicero@polk-fl.net

Kate Markley  

kmarkley@tampabay.rr.com

John Chapman

hcap@verizon.net

HEARTLAND UNIT


(Updated 5/2/18)

Greetings, from the Heartland Unit of NASW, I would like to take this opportunity to thank each of you who attended our Social Work Month Celebration it was awesome; not to mention that every table was sold out and we really enjoyed the day and its activities. Our guest radiated the room with positive energies amid the joyful laughter and networking. I am happy to report that many of our guests stated that they were inspired by the entire content of the celebration, they also stated that the food was delicious, and they looked forward to next year's event. 

A special thank you to all of our exhibitors, volunteers and to the social work students who also attended and some of them will be graduating in a few days...congratulations from the Heartland Unit of the NASW.

We are also grateful to our colleague Michiel Crawford, who hand-made the beautiful earrings for the celebration and presented them as gifts for our almost 200 guests; everyone was excited and commented on how lovely they were. 


Our 2019 selected honorees were:


  • Sara Lemire, MSW, as the 2018 Social Worker of the year;
  • Tanya Berisford, BSW, as the 2018 Social Work Student of the year;
  • Maxine Dooley, CBHT, CRRA, as the 2018 Public Servant of the year.

Currently, we are preparing for our next meeting to set goals and objectives for our upcoming endeavors.


Thank you all for your support, and all that you do for others you are appreciated. We love being social workers and we will keep the banner waving high here in the Heartland Unit ready to advance a greater work in the near future.





“Social entrepreneurs are not content just to give a fish or teach how to fish. They will not rest until they have revolutionized the fishing industry.” 
― Bill Drayton, Leading Social Entrepreneurs Changing the World

Join NASW today! 1-800-742-4089