Join NASW today! 1-800-742-4089


School Website:

We would like to Congratulate our new Department Chair, Mrs. Katisa Donaldson, M.S.W., S.P.A. who is also returning this fall as the MSW Field Director. She has been working in the Department of Social Work for over fifteen years, initially as the Child Welfare Education Coordinator. She later became the MSW Field Director and has expanded the reach and scope of the graduate field experience over the years.  Chairwoman Donaldson’s Motto is “Working Together is the ONLY Way! " She wants to portray the vision of Dr. King "There Is Always Time To Do Right" and has the  mindset that all good will flow and negativity will go. She believes that love is what the world needs for ALL mankind! And shares that with that vision we can cover the world with the most compassionate, empathic, non-judgmental professionals excelling with the highest ethics and values FAMUs Social Workers  can produce. 

Social Work Department’s New and Returning Faculty and Staff: Fall 2020

Chantel Arnold-MSW, Graduate Program Assistant (Fall 2019)
Justine Benton, MBA, Office Manager (Spring 2018)
Alisha Bradley, MSW, BSW Program Director (Fall 2020)
Terrell Brown, PhD, Associate Professor
Katisa Donaldson, MSW, Department Chair/ Graduate Field Director
Kim Finch-Kareem, PhD,  MSW Program Director (Fall 2020)
Irma Gibson, PhD, Associate Professor (Fall 2019)
Jocelyn Hayden, MSW, Graduate Student Advisor (Fall 2019)
Adriane Jackson, MSW
Merlin Langley, PhD, Associate Professor (Fall 1997)
LaRae Lauray, MSW, Undergraduate Field Director (Fall 2019)
Jacquelyn McMillan, PhD, LCSW, Assistant Professor (Fall 2018)
Laura Myers, PhD, Professor (Fall 2008)
Robin Perry, PhD, Professor (Fall 2006)
Kenisha Thomas, PhD, Assistant Professor (Fall 2019)
Gari Tookes, PhD, LCSW, Assistant Professor (Fall 2018)
Janay White, MSW, FCCM (Fall 2020)

FAMUs Social Work Department Faculty/Staff Accomplishments: 

Dr. Terrell Brown achieved tenure status and promotion to Associate Professor in the Social Work Department.

Dr. Gari Tookes
had three publications accepted; work on the Marijuana grant; work on the Gadsden county grant

Dr. Jacquelyn McMillan College & Community Appointments: 
Co-Advisor: Women Against Rape student organization; NASW-FL – Big Bend Chapter Legislative Chair; NASW-FL – Race and Justice Task Force – Policing Sub-Committee; Domestic Violence Coordinator – BAIZ Chapter – Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Robin Perry, Ph.D., M.S.W: Awards:    
2020 Educator of the Year – Florida Big Bend Chapter of NASW;  2020 Most Valuable Professor, Florida A&M University, Digital Learning Initiative; Chairperson: Statewide Child Abuse Death Review Committee; Member: Research Advisory Committee for ALICE in Florida: A Financial Hardship Report-2020 Florida Report.