Greetings NASW-Broward and welcome to 2021! So far-- it's been complicated.

 As many of us know now, Wednesday January 6th our capital was attacked, and it is important to note some of those people are Florida residents. In addition, we are suffering record-number deaths and new cases COVID-19 infections. Our nation, and especially our state, is suffering.

We at NASW-Broward want to honor and support our community members the best way we can, which is by continuing our educational, advocacy, and community-based events. With that in mind, we'd like to announce updates for our members!

  • NASW-Broward and NASW-Florida nominations will be ending January 15th! - See below for more information. We will have updates about our virtual awards ceremony in March as it comes.
  • We would like to welcome our newest volunteer to our steering committee, Alexis Serrano, our new Legislative chair!
  • Our steering committee volunteers have started a new support group for budding professionals and social work students titled, “Are We There Yet?”. Meetings will be held the first Thursday of every month and we will be sending out electronic invites!

For events, so far we have scheduled:

  1. January 13th: Haitian attitudes towards mental health by Odeline Jean-Baptise, MSW
  2. February 6th: Grant Writing Workshop with Dr. Fabio Naranjo, our current NASW-Florida Vice Present
  3. March Social Work Month event(s) upcoming!

Social Work Awards!

The deadline is JANUARY 15TH, so if there is someone in your life you think is deserving of these prestigious recognitions, please consider referring themto: 

The eligible titles are: 

  • Social Worker of the Year (Must be a current NASW-FL member)
  • Social Work Student of the Year (Must be a current NASW-FL member and enrolled in a ​CSWE-accredited  social work program in FL)
  • Social Work Educator of the Year  (Must be a current NASW-FL member who is affiliated with a ​CSWE-accredited social work program in Florida as a faculty member, adjunct, or field instructor)
  • Public Citizen of the Year (Must not be a social worker or have a degree in social work)
  • Elected Official of the Year (Must be a current local, state or federal elected official)

​If anyone has any thoughts, questions, suggestions, please feel free to email us at: 

Are you a social work Leader? NASW Broward Unit has positions available for a leadership role on our steering committee. We are looking for a Unit Legislative Chair, Unit PACE Chair and taking nominations for the elected CCNLI Unit Chair.  If you are interested in being a social work Leader and being on the NASW Broward steering committee contact .


Join NASW today! 1-800-742-4089


February 4, 2020 • Virtual
*NASW-FL Broward Unit presents "Are We Experts Yet?" with Veronica Latchman, Alexis Serrano & Shirley Roseman from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.  “Are We Experts Yet?” is a monthly peer support group for students, interns and new professionals.
Wherever you are in your new social work career, you are welcome to join us as we figure it out together! Each month on the first Thursday, we will gather for one hour to discuss a variety of topics relevant to the Broward Unit budding professionals!  A Zoom link with be provided prior to the event.  Registration is free for NASW Members and $5 for non-members.


February 6, 2020 • Virtual
*NASW-FL Broward Unit presents "Grant Writing and Fundraising for Non-Profits" with Fabio A. Naranjo, PhD, MSW. from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.  Dr. Naranjo trained as a successful grant-writer for social service organizations and worked for 10 years as a grant maker for three separate foundations
A Zoom link with be provided prior to the event.  Registration is $20 for NASW Members, $40 for non-members and $30 for student non-members.


Shirley Roseman, MSW - Unit Chair

​Marjorie Meredith - Unit Vice Chair

Guylene Presendieu - Unit Secretary 

Michelle Johnson - Unit PACE Chair

Alexis Serrano - Unit Legislative Chair

Henry Kronner - Unit Membership Chair

James Walton II - Unit MSW Student Representative

Neal Sinha - Unit BSW Student Representative

Veronica Latchman - Unit Social Media Chair